Four Alabama Community Colleges Recognized By Aspen Institute: Among the Best in the U.S.

Four Alabama Community Colleges Recognized: The Aspen Institute has recognized four Alabama Community Colleges, naming them among the top community colleges in America.

The Oscars for great community colleges

This week, the Aspen Institute unveiled the top 150 Community Colleges in the U.S. selected to participate in the Aspen Prize for Community College Excellence, a prestigious acknowledgment of outstanding achievement and performance among two-year colleges. Former President Obama aptly dubbed the bi-annual award program “the Oscars for great community colleges.”

The Alabama community colleges that made the list are:

  • Wallace State Community College in Hanceville
  • Northeast Alabama Community College in Rainsville
  • Snead State Community College in Boaz
  • Southern Union Community College in Wadley, Valley and Opelika

“We at Northeast are very honored that the Aspen Institute recognizes the college as one of the top community colleges in America. Indeed, this is the sixth time we have been recognized for this honor, one of only a select group of community colleges in America that have been honored six times.”

Dr. David Campbell, President, Northeast Alabama Community College

Four Alabama Community Colleges Recognized

ALSO READ: Most Affordable Online Nurse Practitioner Programs

2025 Aspen Prize criteria

The 2025 Aspen Prize is made possible by the generous support of Ascendium, the Joyce Foundation, JPMorgan Chase, and the Kresge Foundation.

The best community colleges are continuing to focus on advancing the core mission: making sure as many students as possible graduate with credentials that lead to fulfilling careers and reflect the development of diverse talent that communities, states, and our nation need.”

Josh Wyner, Executive Director, Aspen Institute College Excellence Program

In the coming year, the Aspen Institute will meticulously evaluate and consider the four Alabama community colleges for the coveted $1 million Aspen Prize. The prestigious award is set to be conferred in 2025.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *